top of page
Search

Highlights from the 2010’s and looking forward to the ‘20’s

When better to start a new blog… not just at the start of a new year but at the start of a new decade!


And it’s been quite the decade.


When the bells sounded on 1st January 2010, I was in my third year of secondary school, yet to sit any exams, yet to decide how I wanted to spend the rest of my life.


Facebook was still an upstart, there was no such thing as ‘going on a Tinder date’ and apps like Snapchat and TikTok simply didn’t exist.


And, quite frankly, the President of the US wasn’t a reality TV host.


So while the 2010’s didn’t give us flying DeLorean’s, hoverboards or self-drying clothes as some fans of classic ‘80s sci-fi hoped it would, it did give some memorable (and straight up WILD) moments – here’s some worldly throwbacks as well as some reflections on my own highlights of the 2010’s:


gif

-2010 Lady gaga wore a dress made entirely of meat at the MTV Awards - a powerful political statement, not just an attention-grabbing outfit, referring to a speech she made, The Prime Rib of America, which urged the US military not to discriminate against gay men and lesbians from serving in the army.


gif

- 2011 everyone was 'planking'. And so began the procession of weird internet crazes including but not limited to the Harlem Shake, The Cinnamon challenge and the Mannequin challenge.





gif

- 2012 Some feared the world would end as the Mayan Calendar predicted and Gangnam Style became the most watched video EVER.... (I mean maybe the world should have ended in 2012... but who's to say...)


gif

- 2013 What Does the Fox Say was nominated for World’s Best Song at the World Music Awards; and in Siobhan news, I finished secondary school with 2 advanced highers and 7 highers... yep I have always been an absolute nerd what's new...


gif

- 2014 Scotland votes AGAINST Independence; In Siobhan news, this was the year I got into University - choosing Stirling for its media societies, picturesque campus, and (believe it or not) the commute - as something a wee bit different rather than staying in Glasgow just for convenience


gif

- 2015 the dress debate that had E.V.E.R.Y.O.N.E questioning their own sanity - #gold and white or #blue and black?







gif

- 2016 - Pokemon Go was launched and became a summer craze. Though it is still available today and it does has a die-hard band of supporters, it's never had the same number of users that it had in summer 2016.




gif

- 2017 – Britain triggers article 50 ... and well...the gif says it all really...








gif

- 2018 The delight that is GDPR comes to effect; and in Siobhan news I graduated from university and got my first adult job (yay!)







gif

- 2019 Avengers End Game becomes the highest grossing movie of all time;and in Siobhan news, I celebrated one year at my current job, having organised my second black-tie event, and taken over publication of a popular business magazine.


...Hey, still me...so, since you've made it this far - this has been the first of many blog posts (it's sort of my New Year and New Decade resolution). I have't decided on any kind of schedule for posting or agreed with myself what exactly I will be writing about going forward... I'm thinking it will be a mix of travel, film, TV and general lifestyle opinions/rants/advice pieces so stay tuned!!!

gif

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page